Hallow’s Eve Top 10, No 8 Jack The Pumpkin King ( Catrin Maier – Cat’s Wire )

Greetings once more dear tree friends
Saturday today and as usual we will continue counting weeks and days till Hallow’s Eve. 1st of September today and autumn is definitely in the air. The pumpkins I’ve planted i spring are startig to get really big. Soon the time will come when they will be ready for harvest, cooking and carving 🙂

Speaking of carving I did a bit of research to see how this tradition came to pass. It is really interesting. The carving of jack-o’-lanterns springs from the Christian souling custom of carving turnips into lanterns as a way of remembering the souls held in purgatory. The turnip has traditionally been used in Ireland and Scotland at Halloween, but immigrants to North America used the native pumpkin, which is both much softer and much larger – making it easier to carve than a turnip. Subsequently, the mass marketing of various size pumpkins in autumn, in both the corporate and local markets, has made pumpkins universally available for this purpose. The American tradition of carving pumpkins is recorded in 1837 and was originally associated with harvest time in general, not becoming specifically associated with Halloween until the mid-to-late 19th century.

The prac­tice ori­gin­ated from an Irish myth about a man nick­named “Stingy Jack” who invited the Devil to have a drink with him and then didn’t want to pay for his drink. It’s a long story, but the bot­tom line is that Jack tricked the Devil into climb­ing up a tree to pick a piece of fruit. While the devil was up in the tree, Jack carved a sign of the cross into the tree’s bark so that the he could not come down until he prom­ised not to bother Jack for ten more years. Soon there­after, Jack died and God would not allow such an unsa­vory fig­ure into heaven. The Devil, upset by the trick Jack had played on him and keep­ing his word not to claim his soul, would not allow Jack into hell. So Jack was con­demned to wander the earth between heaven and hell with only a burn­ing piece of coal in a carved out turnip to light his way. (Sources wiki & Gothic Gourds ).

The reason I was talking about pumpkins is the item that I will be featuring today! A very special bracelet with gorgeous beadwork only by Catrin Maier of Cat’s Wire. I met Cat a year ago through her amazing copper wire sculptures. Of course since I am sculpting wire into trees her page caught my attention immediately. I soon found out that Cat is a very talented artist that makes jewelry and sculptures with various techniques. In her own words:

“I like to say that the tagline for my business is “Anything goes”. I make jewelry and little sculptures. The techniques I use are wire crochet, wire knit (also done with a crochet hook), bead looming and more rarely these days spool knitting or work with polymer clay. I also like to combine those techniques to create unique pieces, often one of a kind. My main materials are copper (in different colors) and silver wire, beads and cabochons and polymer clay. Anything goes” refers to the kind of pieces I make. One day I feel like making something elegant, other days I prefer a casual style, sometimes my pieces are whimisical and sometimes outright silly, but so much fun!”

The piece that I chose from her beautiful work today is her beadwork bracelet of Jack The Pumpkin King from Tim Burton’s A Nightmare Before Christmas. I do love that movie. It is one of my favorites cause it combines 2 of my favorite holidays, Christmas and Halloween. It is a very smart concept with beautiful music and great animation. As a character Jack embodies everything Halloween stands for. He is spooky, witty, funny, smart and innocent at heart.

Jack Bracelet by Cat’s Wire

Cat shares her thoughts with us about this particular piece :

I have always been a fan of Tim Burton’s “The Nightmare before Christmas” and particularly dear to my heart are Jack Skellington and his dog Zero. A while ago my bead looming group announced a three color challenge. At first I wanted to make a geometrical pattern. I’m not even sure how Jack crept into my thoughts, but once he was there, he didn’t get out. He was so perfect, too. All in black and white and just a murky looking background was all I needed – and an idea how to fit him onto a bracelet with his long arms and legs!

This is one of my wider cuffs and I re-weaved all warp threads, so Jack took me a while even though there are not many colors, but I still think it was worth it. I just wish I could have fitted Zero on there as well, but that would probably have meant turning the cuff into a sleeve. You know I think I just had another idea to put on my looooong project list.”

I must admit I love this bracelet. It is a great craftmanship and I can’t wait to see what Cat has in store for us in the future. You can find Cat’s work on

Ad of course her items are available for sale on:

Thank you Cat for the opportunity to share your gorgeous creation with all the tree friends 🙂

A big thanks to all of you for reading and visiting 🙂

If you wish to read past entries of the top 10s please click here

Have a wonderful weekend dear tree friends and remember next Saturday we ll have another artist featured here 🙂 Take care xx

 

 

This entry was posted in Top Tens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hallow’s Eve Top 10, No 8 Jack The Pumpkin King ( Catrin Maier – Cat’s Wire )

  1. Cat says:

    Thank you for the feature! I have loved Halloween since I read about it in my Mary Poppins book as a young child and I was so sad we didn’t celebrate it then – so this is extra special for me!

    • drommelund says:

      You re more than welcome Cat 🙂 I love Halloween too and autumn is such a beautiful season! We also didnt celebrate Halloween as I was growing up. This year though will be a special one! The pumpkins are growing outside! 😀

Leave a Reply

