Hallow’s Eve Top 10, No 6 Deluxe Haunted House & Cemetery Collage (Melissa Walker – Immortal Visions Paper Crafts)

Greetings dear tree friends

As every Saturday we continue the countdown to Halloween. So here I am writing with a cup of warm coffee that has been enhanced with a bit of Baileys 🙂

Hallow’s eve is a holiday when we reflect upon the past. We honor it and celebrate it. Our characters are shaped according to our past experiences either bad or good. It is time to honor all those who have sadly left us, a time when we look back with a smile on our faces of all the good times they have given us, a time to honor the dead and their spirit. That is why one of the main themes of this holiday is in fact spirits and ghosts. It is considered that on Hallow’s Eve the border between the spirit world and our world in rather weak. It is believes that on Hallow’s Eve the spirits are walking this earth again and people can contact them and ask them questions. It is said that if you see a spider on that day or night is a loved one’s spirit watching over you. Of course today most people think that these are tales of fiction.. Well, I believe in the spirit world and I believe that there are certain days like Hallow’s Eve that this border is rather weak.. After all, the people who die don’t really leave us. A part of them lives in us and our actions. As humans we are shaped by other people as well, we might not be exact copies of our parents for instance but we do have inside us a bit of them that stays with us always.

Today we feature a really talented artist 🙂 One of my personal favorites. I came across her work completely by accident and it was the first time in my life that I thought that if I ever get one of her gorgeous cards, I wont have the heart to write on them. Small pieces of art that deserved to be framed and cherished. Melissa Walker of Immortal Visions paper crafts is an artist that specializes in creating gothic and dark greeting cards for every occasion. Perfect for special people and occasions.

Melissa tells us a bit more of the birth of Immortal Visions Paper Crafts:

“Immortal Visions was born when I decided to make my annual Christmas cards with a Neo-Victorian theme. They were a great hit with friends and family, so the following Valentine’s day I made Gothic, vampy cards and opened up shop on Etsy! I’m always looking for new ways to darkly redesign the traditional greeting cards and paper crafts I create.”

Today we are featuring one card with a Halloween theme of course 🙂 the Deluxe Haunted House & Cemetery Collage. It is one of the really pretty Halloween cards I ve seen out there 🙂 Love the colors and the die cuts 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Melissa shares her thoughts about this piece:

“The Haunted House and Cemetery Collage was made during a week inspired by Halloween scenes and settings. Using die-cuts, stamps and fabulous graveyard background paper, I tried to build a “photograph” of Halloween spookiness. I wanted a mysterious, whimsical silhouette for the house and think the swirly stamping is my favorite part of the piece”

For all dear tree friends that like Victorian and dark gothic themes you can pay a visit to Melissa’s shops and you can check her work on these links:

Thanks so much Melissa for visiting us today and for sharing your work with me and all the tree friends 🙂 It has been a pleasure writing about your work and sharing it with everyone 🙂

A big thank you to all of the friends that come and read this little blog 🙂 If any of you wish to read the past entries of the Halloween top 10, please click here

Have a wonderful weekend everyone and stay warm

Many hugs to you all 🙂

 

 

This entry was posted in Top Tens. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hallow’s Eve Top 10, No 6 Deluxe Haunted House & Cemetery Collage (Melissa Walker – Immortal Visions Paper Crafts)

  1. So wonderful – I just love your thoughts on spirits and the thin veil on Hallow’s Eve. Wonderful post, and I thank you from the bottom of my dark heart for featuring my work here.

Leave a Reply

